A Course in Miracles: Lesson 47

Lesson 47

God is the strength in which I trust.

Superheroes fascinate me. I love their outfits and their abilities. I always have. There was always something transformative that happened when a Superhero dressed in his or her garb and morally protected the public. There was He-man, Thor, Wonder Woman, Batman, Superman and Supergirl…just to name a few. I was also amazed at how some of them had super powers out of this world while others just had super gadgets that made them a superhero. Either way, this super power or super gadget made the world feel safer and protected.

As a child I would often play “pretend.” In some instances I would play outside pretending that Superman would come and scoop me up and save me, like he would with Lois Lane. Or I would be inside and He-man with his sword would dominate the evil lurking in my Barbie playhouse, which was really just a tissue box with the tissues as beds and sofas. It wasn’t a posh Barbie house but it was a cozy one. And a white one at that!

Then as I grew up I saw the illusion that Superman wasn’t real. For a while I just thought he didn’t visit my particular part of world. Thinking my family or our town didn’t need saving bad enough. There must be bigger fish to fry in other towns besides mine. I figured if Patrick Swayze didn’t come to my town then why would a superhero? This was truly my logic.

But as the illusion grew thinner, I realized that Superman, nor any other superhero, would never be gracing my town, ever, because they weren’t real. They didn’t exist. It’s funny but somewhere inside me I still kept hope. When things went south I often looked around outside myself as if some mythical action figure would show up and save me, make me safe, and protect me. So often I have waited and waited. So, often I have said “…if there were only a real Wonder Woman.”

While in waiting I have tried my own personal strength to overcome trials. If a superhero wasn’t going to show up, it is now up to us, right? Yes and no. It depends on if it is the “us” or “US.” The small mind versus the One Mind.

For the most part, we have come across the Course because we been letting the ego, the small mind, run the show and be our protection, which has really led us to living a life in defense mode. Not unlike putting a patch over something here and there with water waiting to burst out of the seams.

As we learned from yesterday’s lesson about forgiveness, if our own brand and strength of forgiveness didn’t get us anywhere, what does this tell us about our effort? Are we trusting the wrong source that we are “efforting” so hard to exert? Are we trusting the effort of the ego? Does our effort really bring us the peace we are looking for?

“If you are trusting in your own strength, you have every reason to be apprehensive, anxious and fearful. What can you predict or control? What is there in you that can be counted on (ACIM Lesson 47 1:1-3)?”

“Who can put his faith in weakness and feel safe (ACIM Lesson 47 2:3)?”

We are not left out on a limb thinking that we have been trusting the wrong source of strength. Once more, we value what we have chosen as it has led us up to this point, this point where we are anywhere but alone out on a limb. We are safe with our One True Source and the strength She provides. We have been gazing outside of ourselves looking for the superhero that already lies within.

“God is your safety in every circumstance. His Voice speaks for Him in all situations and in every aspect of all situations, telling you exactly what to do to call upon His strength and His protection. There are no exceptions because God has no exceptions. And the Voice Which speaks for Him things as He does (ACIM Lesson 47 3:1-4).”

You will notice today the peace that comes during our practice periods. It is the peace that comes as let go and rest in the strength that already resides within you.

“There is a place in you where the strength of God abides (ACIM Lesson 47 7:6).”

There is no situation in which this cannot be so. It is guaranteed. Today we can begin to let down our guard and our defenses so that that strength that lies within can shine through. And it all comes from our allowance. We are invited today to move out of the way to let Love move through and show us Her strength. Who knew our real superpower was that of being able to let go?

Today we search for the One Inner Superhero, the God within. But that doesn’t mean that we can’t have fun playing with costumes that speak to our Inner Superhero and Her abilities. She wants to come out and play! So let Her!

Here is a photo of my Inner Superhero! ONE-der Woman!

Namaste.

 

ONE-der WomanONE-der Woman Too


Leave a comment